Ashtanga Yoga

If we practice the science of yoga, which is useful to the entire human community and which yields happiness both here and hereafter – if we practice it without fail, we will then attain physical, mental, and spiritual happiness, and our minds will flood towards the Self. – K. Pattabhi Jois Quotes

Today’s Yoga sequence is brought to you by Lesley Fightmaster. Ashtanga is a challenging practice that requires determination, strength and will. The Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a style of yoga codified and popularized by K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century which is often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga. Ashtanga means eight limbs or branches, of which asana or physical yoga posture is merely one branch, breath or pranayama is another.

This yoga sequence was a challenge for me. At one point I was falling over, falling behind the sequence and lost my focus. After 35minutes I checked the screen for the time becasue I was starting to tire. Thankfuly, yoga taught me to persevere so I stuck with it, challenged myself and surprised myself at how I could adapt to the difficult asanas in the final hour. Thank you Lesley. I love the freedom of being able to practice yoga everyday in the comforts of my own home. I hope you can try it too!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s